Continuing my trail through the different divisions of daffodil, Narcissus Actaea is another ‘heirloom’ variety dating back to before 1919. It represents the poeticus, division 9. Perhaps the most ancient of daffodils, this may be the variety that Persephone was picking when Hades abducted and stole her away to the underworld. From the official description: ‘usually one flower to a stem; perianth segments pure white; corona very short or disc-shaped, usually with a green and/or yellow centre and a red rim, but sometimes of a single colour; flowers usually fragrant’. Actaea fulfills all the features of its division with an emphasis on the fragrance. It has been a top performer in our garden for years. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s